Future Reflections                                                                                                      Fall 2001

(back) (next) (contents)

National Federation Of The Blind
2002 Scholarship Program

Each year at its National Convention in July, the NFB gives a broad array of scholarships to recognize achievement by blind scholars. All applicants for these scholarships must be (1) legally blind and (2) pursuing or planning to pursue a full-time postsecondary course of study in the fall semester of 2002, in the United States, except that one scholarship may be given to a full-time employee also attending school part-time. In addition, some scholarships have been further restricted by the donor.

The scholarship application is now available for downloading from the NFB Website, and forms have been or soon will be mailed to financial aid offices in educational institutions around the country. Anyone can order scholarship forms from:

Materials Center
National Federation of the Blind
1800 Johnson Street
Baltimore, Maryland 21230


NFB State Presidents and members of the 2002 Scholarship Committee will also have scholarship forms. These may be copied as long as both sides of the form are reproduced. Completed applications must be received by  March 31, 2002.

Scholarships to be given at the National Convention in 2002 are listed with special restrictions noted:


Kenneth Jernigan Scholarship – Given by the American Action Fund for Blind Children and Adults, a nonprofit organization which works to assist blind persons, in memory of the man who changed perceptions regarding the capabilities of the blind in this country and throughout the world. Kenneth Jernigan is viewed by our field as the most important figure in the 20th century in the lives of blind persons. The Action Fund wishes to keep fresh and current in the 21st century the understandings he brought to the field and thus has endowed this scholarship dedicated to his memory and to the continuation of the work he began. No additional restrictions.


Two National Federation of the Blind Scholarships – No additional restrictions.

Melva T. Owen Memorial Scholarship – Given in memory of Melva T. Owen, who was widely known and loved among the blind. She and husband Charles Owen became acquainted with many blind people through their work in the “Voicepondence” Club. Charles Owen says: “There shall be no limitation as to field of study, except that it shall be directed towards attaining financial independence and shall exclude religion and those seeking only to further general or cultural education.”


Jennica Ferguson Memorial Scholarship – Given to keep alive the memory of a young woman who dealt with her blindness and terminal illness with a grace and strength she frequently assured others she drew from the Federation and from her faith in God. No additional restrictions.

Three National Federation of the Blind Scholarships – No additional restrictions.


Michael and Marie Marucci Scholarship – Given by two dedicated and valued members of the NFB of Maryland. The winner of this scholarship must be studying a foreign language or comparative literature; pursuing a degree in history, geography, or political science with a concentration in international studies; or majoring in any other discipline that involves study abroad. The winner’s file must also show evidence of competence in a foreign language.

Lora E. Dunetz Scholarship – No additional restrictions but preference will be given to those studying to enter the medical field, work in which has meant so much to Lora Dunetz, who intends this scholarship to assist the winner in achieving a lifetime of employment through higher education.

Hermione Grant Calhoun Scholarship – Dr. Isabelle Grant endowed this scholarship in memory of her daughter. Winner must be a woman.

Kuchler-Killian Memorial Scholarship – Given in loving memory of her parents, Charles Albert Kuchler and Alice Helen Kuchler, by Junerose Killian, dedicated member of the NFB of Connecticut. No additional restrictions.

E. U. Parker Scholarship – Endowed by his wife, who joined him in a lifetime of Federationism, this scholarship honors a long-time leader of the National Federation of the Blind whose participation stood for strong principles and strong support of the Federation’s work. No additional restrictions.

Howard Brown Rickard Scholarship – Winner must be studying or planning to study in the fields of law, medicine, engineering, architecture, or the natural sciences.

National Federation of the Blind Computer Science Scholarship – Winner must be studying in the computer science field.

National Federation of the Blind Educator of Tomorrow Award – Winner must be planning a career in elementary, secondary, or postsecondary teaching.

National Federation of the Blind Humanities Scholarship – Winner must be studying in the traditional humanities such as art, English, foreign languages, history, philosophy, or religion.

Thirteen National Federation of the Blind Scholarships – No further restrictions, except that one may be given to a candidate working full-time who is attending or planning to attend a part-time course of study which will result in a new degree and broader opportunities in present or future work.

Freedom Scientific Awards – Freedom Scientific, maker of many hardware and software products for the blind, will give vouchers to ten students chosen by the NFB to purchase Freedom Scientific products. In addition to their Federation scholarships ten of the thirty NFB scholarship winners will receive vouchers from Freedom Scientific, five for $2,500, and five for $1,500 in Freedom Scientific products. Freedom Scientific voucher winners must first be eligible for National Federation of the Blind scholarships and then be chosen as winners. Applicants for Federation scholarships who wish to compete for these Freedom Scientific vouchers should include a section in their personal letters explaining how a voucher would help them achieve their aspirations.


All scholarships are awarded for academic excellence, community service, and financial need.


The National Federation of the Blind is an organization dedicated to creating opportunity for all blind persons. Recipients of NFB scholarships need not be members of the National Federation of the Blind.

                                                       (back) (next) (contents)