The Dr. Jacob Bolotin Award Program

Who Should Apply?


Only individuals who are over eighteen years of age may apply for a Dr. Jacob Bolotin Award. Applicants must demonstrate that they have shown exemplary leadership and extraordinary accomplishment in improving the lives of the blind in the United States. Examples include, but are not limited to, developing products or techniques that measurably increase the independence of the blind, creating and/or directing programs or agencies of an unusually high quality for the blind, and mentoring other blind people to fulfill their maximum potential. All individual applicants must be able to demonstrate that the exemplary project being nominated is ongoing or has been in effect throughout a twelve-month period preceding the application date. Applications by individuals must include at least one letter of recommendation from a person familiar with or directly affected by the work done by that individual. Separate awards are established for legally blind applicants and for sighted applicants.


Organizations may apply for a Dr. Jacob Bolotin Award in order to help them further programs, services, techniques, or technology that have made exemplary advancements in assisting and continuing to assist the blind. Applications submitted on behalf of organizations must demonstrate that the exemplary programs or services include substantial participation by blind persons as developers, mentors, administrators, or executives, and not merely as clients, consumers, or beneficiaries. For example, an organization operating a program for blind youth might demonstrate that a substantial number of the counselors, teachers, or mentors involved in the program are blind. The organization must be able to demonstrate that its programs of extraordinary significance have aided the blind within the twelve months prior to application and that a Dr. Jacob Bolotin Award will support future implementation and growth of these programs. The application must also include a testimonial from at least one blind person who has benefited from the referenced programs or services.

With respect to both individuals and organizations, all award recipients must be domiciled in the United States of America and their work must primarily benefit the blind of the United States. Recommendations made by one or more members of the Committee, or by third parties may also be considered.

Sponsored by the Alfred & Rosalind Perlman Trust
Presented by the National Federation of the Blind (NFB)

Return to the Dr. Jacob Bolotin Award Main Page