Convention Notes

Note 1

A Federation information desk is in the registration area from Monday morning through Friday in case you have questions or need assistance.

Note 2

Mandalay Bay room rates are: singles, doubles, triples and quads, $99. In addition to the room rates, there is a 21.63 percent tax. The resort fee, normally $37 a night, is waived for NFB convention attendees. However, fees for internet access, local and toll-free calls, and fitness center access may apply.

Proof of convention registration is necessary, including the showing of an NFB registration badge, if requested. Otherwise, regular hotel rates must be paid. Hotel sleeping rooms are non-smoking; smoking is permitted only in specified areas.

Note 3: Guide Dog Relief Areas

There are two guide dog relief areas at the Mandalay Bay Resort and Casino. The one closest to the sleeping room section is located outside the transportation lobby on the Beach Level. Take the hallway between the low floor elevators and high floor elevators to get to the transportation lobby exit. The relief area is to the right. The area closest to the meeting rooms is located at the Bay View Patio. The doors adjacent to the Islander Registration Desk in the North Convention Center lead outside to the patio.

Note 4

All requests for announcements by President Riccobono during General Sessions must be submitted in Braille.

Note 5

Raffle tickets will not be sold in the registration area, and no raffles or other such drawings will take place during convention sessions or at the banquet. The single exception will be that national divisions may (if they request it in advance) conduct drawings during the sessions or at the banquet. Groups or affiliates wishing to conduct their drawings (or any person wishing to know the winners) may go at noon on Friday to Tradewinds D.

Note 6

Child care for children between the ages of six weeks and twelve years is available during convention sessions, most meetings, and the banquet. Preregistration and payment by June 15 are required for child care. Child care is organized and supervised by Carla McQuillan, the executive director of Main Street Montessori Association. Please note that child-care services provides morning and afternoon snacks, but parents are required to provide lunch for their child(ren) every day. Times listed are the opening and closing times. A late fee of $10 per quarter-hour per child will be assessed for late pickups. Child-care services hours are:

  • Sunday, July 7, 8:30 AM to 12:30 PM and 1:30 to 5:30 PM
  • Monday, July 8, Closed
  • Tuesday, July 9, 8:30 AM to noon and 12:45 to 5:30 PM
  • Wednesday, July 10, 9:00 AM to 12:30 PM and 1:30 to 5:30 PM
  • Thursday, July 11, 8:30 AM to 12:30 PM and 1:30 to 5:30 PM
  • Friday, July 12, 8:30 AM to 12:30 PM and 1:30 to 5:30 PM
  • Banquet, July 12, 6:30 PM to 30 minutes after the banquet ends

Note 7

Divisions, Committees, and Groups: The Federation carries on its business through the affiliated divisions, committees, and groups listed below:


Divisions of the National Federation of the Blind are organized around a specialized interest area usually related to employment or a major stage in life (e.g. parents or students). Divisions serve as a formal vehicle for building the organization at the national level.

  • Amateur Radio: David Chan, President
  • Assistive Technology Trainers: Chancey Fleet, President
  • Communities of Faith: Tom Anderson, President
  • Computer Science: Brian Buhrow, President
  • Community Service: Jeanetta Price, President
  • Deaf-Blind: Alice Eaddy, President
  • Diabetes Action Network: Bernadette Jacobs, President
  • Human Services: Candice Chapman, President
  • Educators: Cayte Mendez, President
  • Guide Dog Users: Marion Gwizdala, President
  • Krafters: Tammy Freitag, President
  • Lawyers: Scott LaBarre, President
  • Merchants: Nicky Gacos, President
  • Office Professionals: Lisa Hall, President
  • Parents of Blind Children: Carlton Anne Cook Walker, President
  • Performing Arts: Julie McGinnity, President
  • Professionals in Blindness Education: Eric Guillory, President
  • Public Employees: Ivan Weich, President
  • Rehabilitation Professionals: Amy Porterfield, President
  • Science and Engineering: John Miller, President
  • Seniors: Ruth Sager, President
  • Sports and Recreation: Jessica Beecham, President
  • Students: Kathryn Webster, President
  • Veterans: Dwight Sayer, President
  • Writers: Eve Sanchez, President


Committees of the National Federation of the Blind are appointed by the President, with the exception of the nominating committee, and serve to advise the organization’s leadership on important matters and to carry out projects to build the organization at all levels.

  • Advancement and Promotion of Braille: Jennifer Dunnam, Chair
  • Ambassadors: Dan Burke, Chair
  • Automobile and Pedestrian Safety: Maurice Peret, Chair
  • Autonomous Vehicles and Innovations in Transportation: Sachin Pavithran, Chair
  • Blind Educator of the Year Award: Edward Bell, Chair
  • Blind Federal Employment: Ronza Othman, Chair
  • Communications: Jessica Beecham, Chair
  • Distinguished Educator of Blind Children Award: Carla McQuillan, Chair
  • Diversity and Inclusion: Shawn Callaway and Rosy Carranza, Co-Chairs
  • Employment: Dick Davis, Chair
  • Genetic Education: Ronit Ovadia Mazzoni, Chair
  • Jacobus tenBroek Award: Marc Maurer, Chair
  • Jacobus tenBroek Memorial Fund: Tracy Soforenko, Chair
  • Kenneth Jernigan Fund: Allen Harris, Chair
  • Library Services: David Hyde and Marci Carpenter, Co-Chairs
  • Membership: Jeannie Massay and Kathryn Webster, Co-Chairs
  • PAC Plan: Scott LaBarre, Chair
  • Research and Development: Brian Buhrow, Chair
  • Resolutions: Sharon Maneki, Chair
  • Scholarship: Cayte Mendez, Chair
  • Shares Unlimited in NFB (SUN): Sandy Halverson, Chair
  • Spanish Translation: Daniel Martinez, Chair
  • Technology Evaluation: Mark Jones, Chair
  • White Cane and Affiliate Finance: Everette Bacon, Chair


Groups of the National Federation of the Blind serve as a resource to members around specific topic areas. Groups are coordinated by a chairperson appointed by the President and are intended to connect members across the country to strengthen the resource network of the organization.

  • Blind Cancer Survivors Support: Isaiah Nelson, Chair
  • Blind Musicians: Linda Mentink and Chris Nusbaum, Co-Chairs
  • Blind Parents: Lisamaria Martinez, Chair
  • Blind Professional Journalists: Elizabeth Campbell and Bryan Bashin, Co-Chairs
  • Careers in Automotive Related Specialties: Marcus Simmons, Chair
  • Legislative Initiatives: Don Burns, Chair
  • Living History: Michael Freholm, Chair
  • NFB in Judaism: David Stayer, Chair
  • NFB LGBT Group: Tai Tomasi, Chair
  • NFB Lions: Ramona Walhof and Milton Ota, Co-Chairs
  • Orientation and Mobility: Edward Bell, Chair
  • Piano Technology: Don Mitchell, Chair
  • Travel and Tourism: Amy Baron, Chair
  • Webmasters: Gary Wunder, Chair