2015 Jacobus tenBroek Disability Law Symposium

The ADA at Fifty: The Future of Disability Law and the Right to Live in the World

Portrait of Jacobus tenBroek

“The right of access to public accommodations and common carriers is a civil right. It is a basic right indispensable to participation in the community, a substantive right to which all are fully and equally entitled.” Jacobus tenBroek, The Right to Live in the World: The Disabled in the Law of Torts, 54 CAL. L. REV. 841, 858 (1966).

Join leading disability rights advocates from throughout the United States in celebration of the Americans with Disabilities Act by looking ahead to the next twenty-five years.

When:            March 26-27, 2015

Where:          National Federation of the Blind Jernigan Institute
                      200 East Wells Street
                             at Jernigan Place
                      Baltimore, Maryland 21230

Registration Fee:     $175
Students:                   $25

A limited number of scholarships to cover the registration fee will be available to individuals with demonstrated financial need. Requests for a waiver of the registration fee should be emailed to Lou Ann Blake no later than January 31, 2015.


The 2015 Jacobus tenBroek Disability Law Symposium will consist of plenary sessions and workshops facilitated by distinguished law professors, practitioners, and advocates who will discuss topics such as: the future of disability, how to enable the participation of people with disabilities in court proceedings, the unique challenges faced by criminal suspects and offenders with intellectual and developmental disabilities, and a vision for the next twenty-five years to improve and augment the ADA, Rehabilitation Act, and IDEA. Presenters include:

  • Peter Blanc, Burton Blatt Institute
  • Judge Richard S. Brown, Wisconsin Court of Appeals
  • Leigh Ann Davis, program manager, Justice Initiatives, The Arc
  • Robert Dinerstein, professor of law, American University Washington College of Law
  • David Ferleger, Esquire, Law Office of David Ferleger
  • Beverly Frantz, criminal justice project director, Institute on Disabilities, Temple University
  • Daniel F. Goldstein, partner, Brown, Goldstein and Levy
  • Christine M. Griffin, executive director, Disability Law Center of Massachusetts
  • Arlene S. Kanter; Bond, Schoeneck, and King Distinguished Professor; Syracuse University College of Law
  • Marc Maurer, immediate past president, National Federation of the Blind
  • Arlene B. Mayerson, directing attorney, Disability Rights Education and Defense Fund
  • Ari Ne'eman, co-founder and president, Autistic Self Advocacy Network
  • Laurence Paradis, executive director and co-director of litigation, Disability Rights Advocates
  • Mark Riccobono, president, National Federation of the Blind
  • Howard A. Rosenblum, chief executive officer, National Association of the Deaf
  • Fredric K. Schroeder, research professor, San Diego State University; first vice president, World Blind Union
  • Anita Silvers, professor and chair of Philosophy, San Francisco State University
  • Christopher Slobogin; Milton R. Underwood Chair in Law; director, Criminal Justice Program, Vanderbilt University Law School; professor of psychiatry; Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
  • Judge Richard B. Teitelman, Supreme Court of Missouri
  • Kathryn Walker, criminal justice fellow, The Arc
  • Michael Waterstone, visiting professor of law, Northwestern University School of Law; J. Howard Ziemann Fellow and professor of law, Loyola Law School Los Angeles


View the agenda for the 2015 Jacobus tenBroek Disability Law Symposium.

To register online, payment must be made by credit card at the time of registration.

To register by mail or fax, download the registration form. Completed registration forms with credit card information may be faxed to Lou Ann Blake at (410) 659-5129. Mail forms with complete credit card information or enclosed check (made payable to the National Federation of the Blind) to:

Lou Ann Blake
200 East Wells Street
       at Jernigan Place
Baltimore, Maryland 21230


Documentation for CLE credits will be provided.


A block of rooms has been reserved for law symposium participants at the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, located at 550 Light Street, Baltimore, Maryland 21202. This recently renovated hotel is located directly across from the Inner Harbor and is convenient to the Jernigan Institute. Rooms may be reserved for March 25-27, 2015, at the rate of $139.00 per night for singles or doubles, $159 for triples, and $179 for quads, plus applicable taxes and surcharges. Make your reservation online at http://tinyurl.com/mp8v7ve. Reservations must be made by 5:00 p.m., February 24, 2015. The NFB will provide a free morning and evening shuttle between the hotel and the Jernigan Institute.  Participants who will be staying at the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore and who require accessible transportation should contact Lou Ann Blake by March 23, 2015.


Symposium materials will be provided in large print and Braille. Participants who require other accommodations should contact Lou Ann Blake by March 19, 2015.

For questions regarding the Jacobus tenBroek Disability Law Symposium, please contact:

Lou Ann Blake, Law Symposium Coordinator
National Federation of the Blind
200 East Wells Street
     at Jernigan Place
Baltimore, MD 21230
Phone: (410) 659-9314, ext. 2221

Sponsorship Opportunities

Jacobus tenbroek works at his desk.Your support of the Jacobus tenBroek Disability Law Symposium will help to shape the future of disability law and ensure that people with disabilities enjoy the same right to live in the world as their nondisabled peers.  Sponsorship opportunities are available at a variety of levels.  Based on the level you choose, you will receive one or more tickets to the symposium, advertising space in the symposium program and your logo on this Web page.  To become a sponsor of the Jacobus tenBroek Disability Law Symposium, please complete the 2015 sponsorship form and return to:

Anil Lewis, Executive Director
Jernigan Institute
200 East Wells Street at Jernigan Place, Baltimore, Maryland 21230
(410) 659-9314, ext. 2374  ●  Fax: (410) 659-5129

The 2015 Jacobus tenBroek Disability Law Symposium is sponsored by:

new-nfb-logo-square.gif         ABA Commission on Disability Rights logo


          Law Office of Lainey Feingold  whitefordtaylorprestonlogo.jpg




Brown Goldstein Levy logo      DRA Logo




creec-logo for web site.jpg      Rosen Bien Galvan and Grunfield LLP Logo


Burton Blast University Syracuse University   AARP Maryland logo




Law Office of Scott C. Labarre, Esq.

The NFB would like to thank our Steering Committee members:

Lou Ann Blake, National Federation of the Blind
Peter Blanck, Burton Blatt Institute
Charles Brown, American Action Fund for Blind Children and Adults
Marc Charmatz, National Association of the Deaf
Robert Dinerstein, American University Washington College of Law
Brian East, Disability Rights Texas
Timothy Elder, TRE Legal Services
David Ferleger, Law Office of David Ferleger
Leslie P. Francis, University of Utah
Daniel Goldstein, Brown, Goldstein, & Levy, LLP
Scott LaBarre, LaBarre Law Offices, PC
Jennifer Mathis, Bazelon Center for Mental Health Law
Anil Lewis, National Federation of the Blind
Mehgan Sidhu, National Federation of the Blind

Previous Symposiums Archive

2014 Audio Recording

2013 Audio Recording

2012 Audio Recording

2011 Audio Recording

2010 Audio/Video Recording

2009 Audio Recording

2008 Audio Recording